Skip to main content

Hop BrookElementary School

About Us » School History

School History

On September 8, 1916, the new Union City School, later to be called Hop Brook , welcomed  its students from the old school. Theodate Pope Riddle, a renowned woman architect, had been given the commission for the design.  Harris Whittemore gave the school to the town, just as his father had given Salem and Hillside schools to the people of Naugatuck.  Unique to this building was a separate kindergarten cottage.  In 1993 an extensive renovation was completed adding nine new classrooms, a media center and a larger cafe and gymnasium. The Architectural firm of Stecker, LaBau, Arneill and McManus, Inc. was responsible for the 6.9 million dollar improvement. Daniel Davis, a professor of architect at the University of Hartford, designed the building. In 1994 Hop Brook School was the only school chosen for the 1994 design award by the CT chapter of the American Institute of Architects. (information provided by Naugatuck Historical Society)
Thodate Pope Riddle